Press release Celebration of ITEC Day 2023 (22.09.2023)

Celebration of ITEC Day 2023 (22.09.2023)

Assistant High Commission of India



59th ITEC Day celebrations by AHCI Kandy

 The 59th ITEC Day was celebrated by Assistant High Commission of India, Kandy on 22nd September 2023 at the Epitome Hotel, Kurunegala. Assistant High Commissioner Dr. Athira S. hosted the event and welcomed the ITEC Alumni who pursued courses in various reputed institutes in India. Hon’ble Governor of North Western Province H.E. Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena graced the occasion as Chief Guest.

  2. Speaking on the occasion, Hon’ble Governor H.E. Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena expressed gratitude to Govt. of India and thanked India for remaining a trustworthy friend of Sri Lanka during the recent crisis. He also noted that the ITEC programme is a world-class training programme and widely appreciated. He expressed the desire for strong relationship of India and Sri Lanka.

  3. ITEC Alumni Mr. Barath Arullsamy, Chairman of Plantation Human Development Trust (PHDT), Ministry of Water Supply and Estate Infrastructure Development (MS&EID), Mrs. Renuka Padmaseeli Wijepura, Divisional Secretary, Nikawaratiya and many other ITEC alumni shared their experiences of studying in prestigious institutions in India under ITEC programme, recollecting their warm memories, appreciating the experience and how the exposure has helped them in their professional roles and duties.

  4. Chief Secretary of North-Western Province Mr. Ranjith Ariyarathne, Secretary of Public Service Commission Mr. E.M.P. Ekanayake, Secretary Ministry of Health Mrs. Kanthi Wehella, Secretary Ministry of Agriculture Mr. D.M.K.C. Dissanayake, Secretary Ministry of Corporative Affairs Mrs. N.P.M. Kariyawasam, Secretary Ministry of Road Transport Mr. Kamal Amarasinghe, Municipal Commissioner Kurunegala Mr. M.A.B.C. Aloka Bandara, Senior Superintendent of Police Kurunegala Mr. Chandana Abesinghe, friends of Media and around 150 ITEC alumni joined the event.

  5. For more details on ITEC please visit official website