e-Tourist Visa Scheme

e-Tourist Visa Scheme

e-Tourist Visa Scheme

e-Tourist Visa Scheme

1. e-Tourist Visa can be granted to the following foreigners who are passport-holders of any of the countries covered by the e-TV Scheme:

(i) whose sole objective of visiting India is recreation, sight seeing, casual visit to meet friends or relatives, short duration medical treatment or casual business visit etc. and no other purpose/activity;

(ii) who do not have a residence or occupation in India;

(iii) who hold a passport with a minimum validity of six months and a re-entry permit, if that is required under the law of the country of nationality of the applicant;

(iv) who is a person of assured financial standing (the production of a return ticket/onward journey ticket and availability of sufficient money to spend during his stay in India may be considered sufficient for this purpose);

(v) who is not a persona-non-grata to the Government of India;

(vi) who is not considered an undesirable person;

2. Procedure for applying for e-TV

In order to avail of the facility of e-Tourist Visa, the foreign national concerned shall mandatorily fill in the application online on the e-Tourist Visa website https://indianvisaonline.gov.in/visa/tvoa.htmlextlink

The Visa applications are cleared in 72 hours and an e-TV authorization is sent to the email ID provided by the applicant. The visitor is expected to travel to India with this authorization and a passport with a minimum remaining validity of six months. In view of the 72 hours taken for clearance, visitors are expected to apply for e-TV at least 4-5 days before the day of their journey to India.

3. Entry Points

The e-Tourist Visa will be provided only at designated international airports namely, Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Trivandrum, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Kochi and Goa. With effect from 15th August 2015, visitors holding e-Tourist Visas authorizations will also be able to arrive at 7 more Indian airports (Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Gaya, Jaipur Lucknow, Thiruchirapalli & Varanasi), taking the total number of airports designated for this purpose to 16 (Sixteen).

4. Validity

An e-Tourist Visa will be valid for entry and stay in India within the period of its validity, subject to the conditions specified. The Immigration officer may grant a single entry e-Tourist Visa valid up to 30 days to the passport-holders of the countries covered by the e-TV Scheme.

5. Conditions for e-Tourist Visa.

e-Tourist Visa can neither be extended nor converted to any other kind of visa during the visa-holder’s stay in India.

(For background: Except in the following circumstances, by the FRRO/FRO concerned.

(a) e-Tourist Visa may be converted to ‘X’ (Entry) Visa if a foreigner who has come to India on an e-Tourist Visa marries an Indian national during the validity of his/her e-Tourist Visa

(b) e-Tourist Visa of a foreigner who falls ill after his/her entry into India rendering him/her unfit to travel and who requires specialized medical treatment may be converted into a Medical visa if he/she is eligible for the grant of Medical Visa and a medical certificate is obtained from a government/ICMR recognized hospital. In such cases, e-Tourist Visa of the attendant accompanying the foreigner (whose e-Tourist Visa is converted into Medical Visa) may also be converted into Medical Attendant [Med X] visa co-terminus with the Medical Visa of the foreigner.

Note: On conversion of an ‘e-Tourist Visa’ into ‘X’ visa/ Medical Visa/ ‘Med X’ Visa, the following endorsement shall be made on the Passport/ Residential Permit ‘Employment/Business not permitted’.)

6. Fee for e-Tourist Visa

A fee of US $60/- or equivalent amount in Indian rupees per passenger (including children), is currently being charged from each foreigner for the grant of an e-Tourist Visa.

7. Repeat visits

e-Tourist Visa may be allowed for a maximum of two times in a calendar year to a foreigner.

8. Diplomatic/ Official passport holders

The e-Tourist Visa facility shall not be available to holders of Diplomatic/Official passports.